Week One of Consistent Gratitude.

So the theme is ‘four weeks of consistent gratitude’ and this is my first week entry. Looking back at my diary entry last Sunday, the 15th of September, I can boldly say that I am most grateful that I had a fruitful week. Last Sunday, I wrote down that I would like to be intentional, to be consistent in all that I do and to be hopeful. I send gratitude to God and the universe because all of this has happened this past week.

I wanted to be intentional, to do things and say things with intent so that I do not feel as if life is just passing me by. The moment I released that into the universe and included that in my prayers, I was very mindful of my words and actions. I believe that this would not have been as easy if I had not included God in my plans, and for that I thank Him.

I also send gratitude for consistency. Having enough discipline to be consistent is very hard. I have to pray for this and to really push myself to be consistent. I decided that I would not have coffee this whole week and I actually managed, the cup I am having right now is the first I am having since last Sunday. Everyone who knows me knows that coffee and I ‘sika nje’ and for non-Zulu speakers that means ‘we are one.’ I was also consistent with working out, this past week I went jogging for two days, jumped rope for the other three days and Saturday was rest day. This was a major level-up for me because I had been ‘resting’ for the whole of the previous week.

Being hopeful is hard when you are 22 and your life does not seem to be going the way you envisioned it to go, so this is also something I pray for: hope. God answered this prayer and reminded me that it is only in Him where I will find everlasting hope and that He is still very mindful of me.

Side Note: being grateful and sending gratitude is very easy and fulfilling when one does not wait for that big prayer to be answered or for that big dream to come true. Life is progressive and everything happens in due time, and once we start allowing that to marinate in our hearts and minds – life becomes more rewarding and fulfilling.   

4 Comments

  1. I wish WordPress could send voicenotes. Thank you so much for this and I am so sorry for the late response. I appreciate you taking the time to read this and for realising all that you’ve realised. I am also still learning to be accepting of reality and that’s the main reason why I wanted to start this gratitude challenge, cause it will also help me to look beyond my situation and so on.

    Like

  2. Sakura says:

    For me discipline is easy, but real, honest gratitude is hard. I’ve earned most of what I have, most of my life, so I often didn’t have anyone to be grateful for, I think if my relationship with my parents had been different, maybe I would have learned to be grateful as a child, but maybe not. Maybe it’s just a lack of practice that makes me so weak in this area. Either way, I’m trying to change now and see if it helps me shift my mind in a helpful way towards being a more well-balanced individual and more accepting of the “as is” reality. Thanks for starting this challenge! 🌻

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mandy says:

    Well said, gratitude unlocks your life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.